Livro: Listen to This – Alex Ross

Depois de “The Rest is Noise“, Alex Ross regressará este ano com “Listen to This“.

Lista de conteúdos:

Part I
1. Listen to This: Crossing the Border from Classical to Pop
2. Chacona, Lamento, Walking Blues: Bass Lines of Music History
3. Infernal Machines: How Recordings Changed Music

Part II
4. The Storm of Style: Mozart’s Golden Mean
5. Orbiting: Radiohead’s Grand Tour
6. The Anti-Maestro: Esa-Pekka Salonen at the Los Angeles Philharmonic
7. Great Soul: Searching for Schubert
8. Emotional Landscapes: Björk’s Saga
9. Symphony of Millions: Classical Music in China
10. Song of the Earth: The Arctic Sound of John Luther Adams
11. Verdi’s Grip: Opera as a Popular Art
12. Almost Famous: On the Road with the St. Lawrence Quartet
13. Edges of Pop: Kiki and Herb, Cecil Taylor and Sonic Youth, Sinatra, Kurt Cobain
14. Learning the Score: The Crisis in Music Education
15. Voice of the Century: Marian Anderson
16. The Music Mountain: Mitsuko Uchida at Marlboro

Part III
17. I Saw the Light: Following Bob Dylan
18. Fervor: Lorraine Hunt Lieberson
19. Blessed Are the Sad: Late Brahms